Our Board

Below is the acting Board of the International Humanitarian Studies Association. A new board will be elected during a General Assembly during the next conference in August 2018. The board will have a mix of academics, consultants, policy advisors, and practitioners.  Board members will have a tenure of 4 years. Existing board members can nominate new board members and members can nominate themselves at the General Assembly or in advance via the website. Self-nominated applications need to be endorsed by at least two other IHSA members.

Dorothea Hilhorst (President)


Susanne Jaspars (Secretary)


Julia Steets (Treasurer)



Marloes Viet (Communication Advisor)
Timothy Wolfer (Media Committee)