Our Board

The IHSA board consists out of the following bodies:
  1. The General Assembly consists of all members of the IHSA.
  2. The Board consists of 8 individual members and 7 institutional members elected by the GA.
  3. The Executive Committee consists of the President of the IHSA, the Secretary and the Treasurer
Below you can find the acting Board of the International Humanitarian Studies Association. This board was elected and ignoted during the 2018 member meeting at the IHSA conference of that year. There are still spots available on the board, feel free to fill in an application form and send it to info@ihsa.info. More information on becoming a board member or to read our statutes, please visit our page: IHSA Governance.

Executive Committee

Dorothea Hilhorst


Susanne Jaspars


Andrew Cunningham


Board Members

Christopher Cushing

Kristin Bergtora Sandvik

Rodrigo Mena

Virginie Troit

Diego Otegui

Mohamed Jelle

François Grünewald

Institutional Members

Julia Steets

The Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi)

Mihir Bhatt

All India Disaster Mitigation Institute (AIDMI)

Tanja Müller

Humanitarian and Conflict Response Institute (HCRI)